East Bernard

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu
En Español

EBISD Earns "A" Rating

East Bernard ISD Earns 
"A" Rating
Commissioner Morath commends work of high-performing districts statewide

 AUSTIN – Following release of 2018 state accountability ratings by the Texas Education Agency (TEA), Commissioner of Education Mike Morath today commended the work taking place in high-performing school districts statewide.

Under the 2018 A-F state accountability system, 153 of 829 school districts and district charters achieved an A rating. Commissioner Morath noted that many of those districts are accomplishing strong performance for all its students in areas with high levels of poverty.

“Achieving an A rating reflects the hard work and commitment of everyone within a school district, starting with our classroom teachers. We should all celebrate the outstanding work of these dedicated educators,” said Commissioner Morath. “Districts with high levels of poverty who attain this high level of performance are proof positive that poverty is not destiny. With strong instruction and curriculum, all students can succeed.”

Parents are encouraged to visit TXschools.org to view online report cards designed to be useful tools to see how a school or district is doing in different areas. The report cards spotlight specific strengths, in addition to any challenges, so that we can work to assure the needs of all students are being met. Parents can search by district or school name and compare that district’s or school’s performance to others in their area.

The following 153 school districts and district charters achieved an A rating: Accelerated Intermediate Academy (Houston); Aledo ISD; Allen ISD; Alvord ISD; Archer City ISD; Argyle ISD; Arlington Classics Academy; Barbers Hill ISD; Basis Texas (San Antonio); Beckville ISD; Bells ISD; Bishop CISD; Bland ISD; Bob Hope School (Port Arthur); Boerne ISD; Booker ISD; Brackett ISD; Brock ISD; Burnham Wood Charter School District (El Paso); Bushland ISD; Caddo Mills ISD; Calvin Nelms Charter School (Katy); Canadian ISD; Canutillo ISD; Carroll ISD; Celina ISD; Chapel Hill ISD; China Springs ISD; Claude ISD; Clear Creek ISD; Coppell ISD; De Leon ISD; Devers ISD; Dripping Springs ISD; Dublin ISD; Eanes ISD; Early ISD; East Bernard ISD; East Fort Worth Montessori Academy; Edinburg CISD; Falls City ISD; Flour Bluff ISD; Fort Worth Academy of Fine Arts; Fort Sam Houston ISD; Franklin ISD; Friendswood ISD; Frisco ISD; George Gervin Academy (San Antonio); Glasscock County ISD; Glen Rose ISD; Goldthwaite ISD; Grandview ISD; Grapevine-Colleyville ISD; Great Hearts Texas (San Antonio); Gruver ISD; Hallsville ISD; Happy ISD; Harmony School of Excellence (Houston); Harmony School of Science (Houston); Harmony Science Academy (El Paso); Harmony Science Academy (Houston); Harmony Science Academy (San Antonio); Harmony Science Academy (Waco); Heritage Academy (Schertz); Hidalgo ISD; Highland Park ISD (Dallas); Houston Gateway Academy Inc.; Hudson ISD; Hurst-Euless-Bedford ISD; Iola ISD; Irion County ISD; Jim Ned ISD; Katy ISD; Keller ISD; Lackland ISD; Lake Travis ISD; Leveretts Chapel ISD; Liberty Hill ISD; Lindale ISD; Lindsay ISD; London ISD; Lorena ISD; Los Fresnos ISD; Lovejoy ISD; Malakoff ISD; Mansfield ISD; Martins Mill ISD; Mason ISD; Medina Valley ISD; Melissa ISD; McAllen ISD; McKinney ISD; Midway ISD; Miles ISD; Muenster ISD; Mumford ISD; Needville ISD; Northwest ISD; NYOS Charter School (Austin); Olney ISD; Orenda Charter School (Georgetown); Panhandle ISD; Paso Del Norte Academy Charter District (El Paso); Pearland ISD; Pineywoods Community Academy (Lufkin); Pioneer Technology & Arts Academy (Mesquite); Plano ISD; Pleasant Grove ISD; Poth ISD; Port Aransas ISD; Princeton ISD; Prosper ISD; Randolph Field ISD; Rapoport Academy Public School (Waco); Red Lick ISD; Ricardo ISD; Rising Star ISD; Roby CISD; Rockwall ISD; Roma ISD; Round Rock ISD; Santa Gertrudis ISD; School of Science and Technology (San Antonio); School of Science and Technology Discovery (San Antonio); Seashore Charter School (Corpus Christi); Shallowater ISD; Sharyland ISD; Shiner ISD; South Texas ISD; Spearman ISD; Spring Hill ISD; Sundown ISD; Sunnyvale ISD; Texas Preparatory School (San Marcos); Tomball ISD; UME Preparatory Academy (Dallas); Union Grove ISD; United ISD; Universal Academy (Irving); University of Texas University Charter School (Austin); Valley View ISD; Van Alstyne ISD; Vanguard Academy (Pharr); Vega ISD; Wall ISD; Waller ISD; Weimar ISD; White Deer ISD; Wimberley ISD; Windthorst ISD; Woden ISD; Wylie ISD (Abilene); and Wylie ISD (Collin County). 

Districts and charters receive a grade or rating based on performance in three areas:

  • Student Achievementmeasures what students know and can do by the end of the year.  It includes results from state assessments across all subjects for all students, on both general and alternate assessments, College, Career, and Military Readiness (CCMR) indicators, like AP and ACT results, and graduation rates.
  • School Progressmeasures how much better students are doing on the STAAR test this year versus last year, and how much better students are doing academically relative to schools with similar percentages of economically disadvantaged students.
  • Closing the Gapslooks at performance among student groups, including various racial/ethnic groups, socioeconomic backgrounds and other factors.

Seventy percent of the accountability rating is based on the better of Student Achievement or Student Progress (whichever is better is the only performance measure counted in the calculations). The remaining 30 percent is based on performance in the Closing the Gaps area. To learn more about the A–F accountability system, visit https://tea.texas.gov/A-F/.

To learn more about the A-F accountability system, visit https://tea.texas.gov/A-F/.

Published Print